Home Results News Table Squad Statistics

Devan White gets between Nuttell and Hoyle

Ilkeston Town 1-0 Pilgrims

Dr Martens League

With the TV Bank Holiday film schedule having a disaster theme (The Poseidon Adventure, The Day the Earth Caught Fire, The True Story of the Osmond Family) I was hoping to get away from the doom and gloom by going to watch the Pilgrims take on Ilkeston, but there was no escape. I ended up watching a rather lacklustre game that ended in Boston's first defeat of the season. The only change to the Boston starting line-up that was so successful on Saturday was that Mickey Nuttell returned to replace injured Paul Watts up front. Steve Appleby also made a welcome return to the subs bench. It was a game with very few goalscoring chances. There were frequent interruptions to the game due to free kicks for minor offences and the game did not really flow at all. Both Norris and Rawle looked dangerous, but Norris was often thwarted by foul means and Rawle wasn't quite having the luck required to finish off moves which he started with great promise. Mickey Nuttell wasn't seeing much of the ball and Andrew Stanhope had a quiet game as well, rarely taking on the Ilkeston defence in his usual flamboyant style.

Boston's best scoring chances in the first half fell to Rawle. Both were headers from crosses by Stanhope and both went over the bar. The closest Ilkeston came to breaking the deadlock was a shot from Christian Moore, which ended up closer to the corner flag than the goal. The second half was even more boring than the first. It was only enlivened by a couple of minor brawls following further fouls on Norris, which resulted in several names going into the referees book from both sides. Former Pilgrim Devan White came closest to scoring with a powerful header, before Ilkeston scored, ten minutes from time, following a free kick. The ball came out to substitute Kevin NOTEMAN who fired a wicked shot past Paul Bastock. The closest the Pilgrims came to equalising was right at the end when a Kiwomya cross was headed over by Joby Gowshall.

United team: 1. Paul Bastock, 2. Joby Gowshall, 3. Paul Wilson, 4. Colin Hoyle, 5. Peter Costello, 6. David Rennie, 7. Andrew Stanhope, 8. Gary Childs, 9. Mickey Nuttell, 10. Mark Rawle, 11. David Norris, 12. Steve Appleby, 14. Andy Kiwomya, 15. Jason Burnham.