Home Results News Table Squad Statistics

Pilgrims 1-2 Grimsby Town

Lincolnshire Senior Cup

by Barbara Singleton

Those were the basic observations as Boston United took their leave of Lincolnshire Senior Cup action for another season after their 1-2 defeat against Grimbsy last night. The Pilgrims succumbed to a Town side comprising a mixture of reserve and youth squad members plus a handful of players with experience at Nationwide League First Division level. Defeat from a low-key encounter won't cause United fans much in the way of sleepless nights, but they will certainly have been impressed by manager Steve Evans' latest acquisition - nippy front runner Shaun Keeble, recruited from Dr Martens League rivals King's Lynn just hours before kick-off after being released by the cost-cutting Norfolk outfit. Notable contributions saw him test Town keeper Andy Love on a number of occasions, but the goal his efforts deserved didn't materialise. United's one moment of scoring success was left to veteran midfielder Steve CHARLES who crept in unmarked at the far post in the 43rd minute to round off excellent crossfield build-up play from Andy Lodge and Mark Melson.

That strike came 120 seconds after Grimsby went ahead, John ROWAN avoiding an offside decision and firing under Paul Bastock. Almost on the stroke of half-time Grimsby were questionably denied a second when Daryl Clare stabbed in from close range after Alan Pouton's shot had been parried by Bastock. But a linesman's flag debatably intervened. The Mariners, though, sealed their passage through to a final date with Lincoln United in the 77th minute when Clare ran unhindered through the heart of the home defence before squaring for Matt MCKENZIE to slot home. Elsewhere in the match, both sides had other chances to have added to the scoreline. For Boston, Power was denied by Love, then saw Danny Butterfield hoof another shot off the line. In addition, Andrew Stanhope and Joby Gowshall also missed out narrowly.

United team: 1. Paul Bastock, 2. Joby Gowshall, 3. Paul Wilson, 4. Mark Melson, 5. Gary Childs, 6. David Rennie, 7. Andrew Stanhope, 8. Steve Charles, 9. Lee Power, 10. Shaun Keeble, 11. Andy Lodge, 12. Mickey Nuttell, 14. Anthony Elding, 15. Steve Appleby, 16. Leigh Taylor, 17. Peter Costello.

This report originally appeared in the Lincolnshire Echo.